Reader Question: What’s A Gimmick v What Draws Traffic?


Readers ask the most compelling questions. This one, for example, really caused me to do some thinking. “What is a gimmick?” I resorted to the dictionary.

Synonyms:

stunt, plan, ruse, ploy; angle

gim·mick (noun)

an ingenious or novel device, scheme, or stratagem, especially one designed to attract attention or increase appeal

<><><>

Hmmm, I think what is being asked here is what techniques can be used in the long term to “attract attention” rather than a one-time gimmick. (Please correct me if I’m wrong.)

Driving traffic is synonymous with visibility and branding. That being said, the first question you want to ask yourself is “Where do I want to direct traffic”; my website, my Amazon product page, my guest post, my article…?

Here are a few ideas I’ve used and have advised others to try.

Free pdf download – Google Docs http://bit.ly/xPBbx3

This entry was posted in Branding, Ebook, Visibility and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

